Soundsvegan Logo

    "It‘s Here, But I Have No Names For It"

    sleepmakeswaves about to release new album

    Preview von Anne
    06.02.2024 — Lesezeit: 3 min
    Deutsche Version lesen
    "It‘s Here, But I Have No Names For It"
    Bild/Picture: © sleepmakeswaves

    The Australian post-rock band sleepmakeswaves has announced a new album called "It's Here, But I Have No Names For It" for April 12th. It will be the start of a giant tour that will take sleepmakeswaves through Australia, Europe, and the US.

    The band produced their new long-player self-directed at Golden Retriever Studios in Sydney. The recordings originally took place in 2022—before the band set off on their three-month tour for their last EP trilogy, "These Are Not Your Dreams".

    When finalising the recording in 2023, they added—among other stuff—string arrangements by Simeon Bartholomew (SEIMS). Andrei Eremin (Closure In Moscow, Tash Sultana, G Flip, Luca Brasi) then mixed the work in Philadelphia. Jeff Lipton and Maria Rice took care of mastering "It's Here, But I Have No Names For It" at Peerless Mastering in Boston.

    The first pre-release single, "Super Realm Park", has it all

    sleepmakeswaves. Bild/Picture: © sleepmakeswaves
    sleepmakeswaves. Bild/Picture: © sleepmakeswaves

    The first single they released in advance is called "Super Realm Park". Multi-layered and full of dazzling contrasts and opposites as it is, it's a very promising foretaste of the album, and it sounds just the way we love sleepmakeswaves. The band's melodic, playful, varied characteristic sound is particularly imaginative and full of atmosphere here. The hopeful soundscapes are breathtaking, fitting perfectly into the world of reverb, harmonies and the building walls of drums and guitars—carried by thoughtful piano playing. Please have a listen yourself; I think the track is fantastic (see below).

    For the rest of the record, sleepmakeswaves announce more sound surprises. Here is what Bird's Robe's Mike Solo writes about it (he is taking care of the record promo for the band):

    "Fans of the band's heavy bombastic aggression will resonate with tracks such as 'All Hail Skull' and 'Ritual Control'. They also shine with invigorated melodic and passionate performances and arrangements on tracks like 'Black Paradise' and 'Terror Future'. Retaining their signature approach to heavy dynamics and crescendos, the band is still at its unmatched peak when they turn their hand to cataclysmic emotional epics such as the title track and the album closer 'This Close Forever'."

    That sounds pretty promising, doesn't it? The band members themselves made a mystical statement about "It's Here, But I Have No Names For It":

    "The instrumental band sleepmakeswaves
    Decided rock music they must save
    In the year twenty twenty-four
    Fans were clamouring for more
    So they dropped a new record
    It's a rave!"

    The mysterious phase of nothingness, crucial to the smw creative process, is over: our new album is finally done. Thank you so much to all our listeners for your patience. It has been a slow but intense labour of love, and we are proud of the songs on this record and grateful for the many people who helped bring it to life. Hope to see you on the road in 2024, more show announcements to come, and we truly hope the new music we're about to release resonates with you in the same way it does with us."

    Alongside the statement, the band released a video titled "Super Post-Rock RPG"—a 1990s video game-style cartoon clip about sleepmakeswaves. Please make sure to check it out after reading this. I'm dropping it for you below!

    A post-music tour of superlatives

    sleepmakeswaves – "It's Here, But I Have No Names For It". Bild/Picture: © sleepmakeswaves
    sleepmakeswaves. Bild/Picture: © sleepmakeswaves

    Shortly after their release, smw are planning to start their tour in Australia, it's take the band from Melbourne via Sydney to Brisbane—accompanied by Taiwanese math-rock legends Elephant Gym and Australian post-rockers Meniscus—a post-music tour of superlatives.

    The tour then heads to Europe, where sleepmakeswaves will also have a stopover at Dunk!festival in Belgium, among highlights. From there, it's on to North America, where the programme includes a show at the PostFest in Indianapolis.

    In case you've been wondering how many tracks are on "It's Here, But I Have No Names For It"—here's the track list:

    1. "AllHailSkull"
    2. "SuperRealmPark"
    3. "RitualControl"
    4. "BlackParadise"
    5. "Verdigris"
    6. "TerrorFuture"
    7. "It's Here,But I Have No Names For It"
    8. "ThisCloseForever"

    sleepmakeswaves – "Super Realm Park"

    sleepmakeswaves – "Super Post-Rock RBG"

    "It's Here, But I Have No Names For It" on Bandcamp

    © 2024 · · Anne Reis